Jet Award 2012 Watch List

2012 Watch List for The Jet Award

Jared Abbrederis Jr  Wisconsin

20 punt returns 316 yards 1td, 15.75 yrds per return

28 KO returns 689 yards, 24.61 yrds per return

Ameer Abdullah Soph Nebraska

26 Kickoff returns 763 yards 1td, 29.35 yrds per return

Ralph David Abernathy IV Soph Cincinnati

39 KO returns 1034 yards 1td, 26.51 yrds per return

Justin Albert Sr Troy

28 Punt returns 230 yards, 8.21 yrds per return

Tavon Austin Sr West Virginia

19 Punt returns 268 yards. 14.11 yrds per return

George Atkinson III Soph Notre Dame

35 KO returns 915 yards 2td, 26.14 yrds per return

DJ Beshears Jr Kansas

49 KO returns 1014 yards, 20.6 yrds per return

Matt Brown Sr Temple

28 KO returns 703 yards 1td, 25.11 yrds per return

18 punt returns 182 yrds, 10.11 yrds per return

Andre Booker Sr Marshall

18 Punt returns 195 yards 1td, 10.83 yrds per return

Mitch Burroughs Sr Boise State

18 Punt returns 239 yards, 13.28 yrds per return

Isaiah Burse Jr Fresno State

75 KO returns 1606 yards, 21.41 yrds per return

Jeremy Deering Jr Rutgers

17 KO returns 530 yards 1td, 31.18 yrds per return

John Evans Soph Western Kentucky

18 KO returns 579 yards 1td, 32.17 yrds per return

JD Falslev Jr BYU

22 Punt returns 220 yards 1td, 10 yrds per return

Jerry “Booboo” Gates Jr Bowling Green

38 KO returns 981 yards 1td, 25.82 yrds per return

Justin Gilbert Soph Oklahoma State

26 KO returns 703 yards 2 td, 27.04 yrds per return

Jordan Hall Sr Ohio State

26 KO returns 683 yrds, 26.26 yrds per return

Rannell Hall Soph Central Florida

23 KO returns 714 yards, 31.04 yrds per return

Dustin Harris Sr Texas A&M

18 Punt retrns 335 yards 1td, 18.61 yrds per return

16 KO returns 374 yards, 23.38 yrds per return

Jayron Hosley Sr Va Tech

18 Punt returns 228 yrds, 12.67 yrds per return

Tracy Lampley Sr Southern Miss

14 Punt returns 356 yards 1td, 11.48 yrds per return

Tommylee Lewis Soph Northern Illinois

30 KO returns 755 yards 2td, 25.17 yrds per return

Venric Mark Jr Northwestern

40 KO returns 915 yards, 22.87 yrds per return

Ben McRoy JR Texas Tech

36 KO returns 899 yards, 24.97 yrds per return

Jamal Miles Sr Arizona State

30 KO returns 788 yards 2 td, 26.27 yrds per return

Raheem Mostert Soph Purdue

25 KO retruns 837 yards 1td, 33.48 yrds per return

Darryl Surgent Soph La-Lafayette

27 Punt returns 323 yards 1td, 11.96 yrds per return

De’Anthony Thomas Soph Oregon

36 KO returns 983 yards 2td, 27.31 yrds per return

TJ Thorpe Soph North Carolina

36 KO return 960 yards 1td, 26.67 yrds per return

Justin Veltung Sr Idaho

18 Punt return 185 yards 2td, 10.27 yrds per return

23 KO return 494 yards, 21.47 yrds per return

Robert Woods JR USC

18 Punt returns 118 yards, 6.5 yrds per return

17 KO returns 393 yards, 23.11 yrds per return

For more information on the Jet Award go to


Voting panel and Parameters for voting

Johnny “The Jet” Return Specialist Award

To be considered for the Jet Award players must be a Division I college football team member and meet the following qualifications:

  • Be a primary return specialist (Kick or Punt returner) for their team.
  • Be among the national leaders in return categories
  • Shows leadership, courage, desire, respect for authority and discipline.

The first round of voting should be conducted in late September and early October. From that first round of votes, the list of 12 semifinalists will be created and released at the end of October.

The second round of voting will take place in mid-October to form the list of four finalists.  A final vote in early December to determine the winner and the decision is announced at the Award Presentation.

Johnny Rodgers will also receive a vote along with the previous winner (s)Joe Adams

Media Voting Panel

Tom Shatel   Omaha World Herald (Local)

Adam Rittenberg (Midwest/National)

Bruce Feldman   CBS (Pac-12/National)

Dennis Dodd  CBS  (Midwest)

Coley Harvey  Orlando Sentinel  (Florida)

Gerry Dinardo  BTN Former Head Coach   (Midwest/National)

Damon Benning  Former College FB Player

Blair Kerkoff   KC Star  (Midwest)

George Schroeder  USA Today (Pacific NW)

Cedric Golden  Austin American Statesman  (Texas)

Edward Aschoff (Southeast)

Lisa Horne  Fox Sports  (Pac-12)

Charles Davis  Fox sports/NFL Network  (National)

For more information on the Jet Award go to

Media Voting Panel

The Jet Award is awarded to College Football’s best return specialist. It takes 5 years for a college football award to be officially recognized by the Football Writers Association of America. A media voting panel will help select the winner for the next four years. This website will be used to acknowledge the Media members who will be on the panel, establish the parameters for eligible candidates and release the Jet Award watch list. We will also post the list as it is narrowed down through the football season.

For more information on the Jet Award go to